Daniela’s Guacamole

I’ve been posting new things I’ve been doing, food-wise, on this blog lately but I thought I’d mix it up and post something that I’ve been making for a while now that is just really, really good. Several years ago I was at my friend Daniela’s place and had the best guacamole ever. I don’t even think I liked guacamole before this and her guac just won me over big time. Of course I got the recipe from her, renamed the recipe after her (she doesn’t even know this!) and we’ve been making it in our family ever since. I mean about a dozen times a year since!

My whole family loves this recipe, even the other two members of it that aren’t super fond of vegetables. My daughter doesn’t eat anything that makes up this guacamole by itself. She hates tomatoes, onions, avocados, green pepper and garlic, but somehow put them all together and she thinks the result is delicious! Because of course, it is. We often have this guacamole paired with tortilla chips and that’s our dinner. It’s a great way to get different vegetables into my kid.

IMG_2035

This time around I was able to get the most perfect avocados ever from the Root Cellar on McKenzie in Victoria. This made me happy because avocados can be such a disappointing purchase sometimes. More times than I can count I’ve bought avocados that I think are ripe and come home to discover they are either full of black spots inside or so under ripe that you can hardly separate the flesh from the rind. Not these! These were absolutely perfect. I couldn’t help but steal a chunk for straight eating as I was chopping them up.

(And hey, don’t waste those spent lime halves! I usually drop mine into water or sparkling water and drink it as I make up the rest of the guacamole. Makes two drinks with one half lime shell in each – one drink for me and one for a helper that may be nearby.)

Here’s what it all looks like, after the avocado is mashed with the lime and before mixing it all up together and diving into it with chips. I usually assign my daughter the mashing and mixing task. She does those as I chop everything up and throw it into the bowl before her.

IMG_2036

Enjoy this recipe at your own meals and thanks again to my friend Daniela who contributed, unknowingly, to this family favourite!

Daniela’s Guacamole

2 avocados, chopped
1 lime, juiced
1 small tomato, chopped small
1/2 green pepper, chopped small
1/3 cup chopped red onion, or to taste
1-2 tsp minced garlic
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped small
salt and pepper to taste

Mash the avocado and combine well with the juice of the lime. Add everything else in chopped and combine. Serve with tortilla chips.

Leave a Reply

