Meyer Lemon Tangelo Grapefruit Marmalade

When Alex wrote about her Meyer Lemon Grapefruit Marmalade on the Food in Jars website in January I feel in serious like with the tangerine colour of the jarred marmalade and knew I had to make that recipe.

I had already made one batch of the Cara Cara Orange and Vanilla Marmalade in January myself but had been reading so much in the Food in Jars Facebook community about every other marmalade under the sun that other people were making (remember, the people in this group come from various parts of the world, places where citrus fruit is growing on their trees right now) that I just wanted to try some other flavours. Enter meyer lemon and grapefruit and then, because I ended up not having enough lemons (one was rotten and I didn’t notice until after I got home from the store), I substituted in a tangelo that I already had in the fridge.

In the end, this recipe was finicky and I’ll say right up front that I probably won’t make it again. It tastes OK but it’s really not absolutely delicious like the Cara Cara Orange and Vanilla Marmalade recipe – which I really love and has probably ruined me for all other marmalades from this point forward. And the prep work on this one was onerous: first I had to take all the rind off all the fruits and cut it into thin strips, then supreme the fruit, then bundle all the membrane and seeds up in a cheesecloth sack and boil them with the marmalade. It just took longer than the other recipe because of all the various steps, whereas the other recipe allowed me to use the entire fruit: rind, pith and all.

Don’t get me wrong, I’ll eat my Meyer Lemon Tangelo Grapefruit Marmalade and I’ll enjoy it because I made it with my own two little hands! It will be delicious on a toasted bagel and I’m sure other ways. But my heart has been stolen by the mushy combination of Cara Cara oranges, lemons and real vanilla bean…so much so that I’ve already made another batch of that first recipe to tide me over until next January!

Leave a Reply

