Sometimes my best ideas come in the middle of the night

I am the last person in the world that would consider myself a nighthawk, yet sometimes my best ideas have come to me in the middle of the night. Oh, don’t get me wrong, I go to bed early! Sometimes when I’m heading upstairs at the end of the night (for me) my husband laughs and says, “You’re going to bed ALREADY?” To which I answer, “Yep!”, almost with a touch of glee. I really do love bed.

Most times I sleep right through the night, like our now-preschooler daughter who has always been a good sleeper. But then there are other nights, nights like tonight, when for the life of me I just can’t do it. My brain – going a mile a minute – wakes me up. And thinks of business ideas! Work ideas! Ideas for life and play! Blogging ideas! Wow. My ideas come in a wide and strong rush that I can’t seem to find the faucet for to turn them off.

And so I get up.

Usually I come to the computer in these wee hours, to do a little checking and poking around on the net. Tonight I’m catching up on Kelly Rae Roberts’s “Flying Lessons” course, which I’ve been participating in for a couple of weeks now. (Love Kelly Rae…she’s exactly what I need right now) And I’ve just had an idea for my business that I will test in the light of day tomorrow when I really wake up. You see, sometimes my night ideas can be a little crazy. And other times they can be just what I have been looking for all along, an answer to something I was seeking. (Thanks subconscious!)

I come by this insomnia honestly I suppose. It was funny to bump into my father while on vacation with he and my mom last year. And by “bump into” I mean that we met a couple of times in the middle of the night in the living room of the two-bedroom condo we were all staying in together. We were two peas in a pod, bonding over our midnight computers. Two idea people at work, just at the strangest hours.

Sometimes my best ideas come in the middle of the night. What about you?

3 thoughts on “Sometimes my best ideas come in the middle of the night

  1. I LOVE my sleep too, and yes quite often I wake up in the middle of the night with ideas that won’t stop swirling until I do something about it. However, I have paper and a pen beside my bed and jot down the ideas. My fear is that if I actually get out of bed and turn on the computer I might never go back to sleep!

    Like

  2. Yep, when I’m working on a new paper or teaching a new course I frequently can’t stop the old brain from spinning. This year I’ve been working on so many new things I’ve often been up tapping away on my laptop in the wee hours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

