The Honour System Still Exists

I mentioned in my post yesterday that I took a drive up to Central Saanich on the weekend, but I didn’t mention that I bought a little goodness along the way.  Driving one of those long roads I suddenly came across the cutest farm stand in the world and just had to turn around to take a look.

I had been wondering if I should make some raspberry jam to add to my strawberry (and strawberry fig) jam collection, and here was my chance to buy some fresh raspberries from a local stand. YUM!  If I have trouble resisting a small county fair then I have even more trouble resisting a tiny farm stand that – get this – still works on the honour system.

This stand delighted me with its simple two-berry display and the lock box for putting your money in to pay for whatever you took.  After I put my four boxes of raspberries in the car and paid my $20 in cash into the lock box, I just had to tell Chelsea how cool this setup was.  I’m sure she had no idea what I was talking about!  Honesty…blah, blah, blah…no one there…blah, blah, blah…they just trust you…

Well, in the end I came home and made some of the most delicious raspberry freezer jam I’ve made ever, the berries were absolutely delectable. And my family had no trouble sampling the fruits of my labours!

Thanks to Vantreight Farms for still believing in people enough to have an honour system road side stand…I will be back!

Leave a Reply

