Out of the blue

One of the strangest things to get used to when talking with my three-year-old these days is when her comments seem to come out of the blue.  It catches me off guard when she pipes up with something that – to me – has absolutely nothing to do with what we were just talking about.  Sometimes it takes me a minute to figure out what to say in response to her wild card comment, and sometimes its crazy juxtaposition is downright funny.

Take the other day, for instance, when Chelsea and I were talking about sun safety.  I had gotten a mild burn on my chest after forgetting to put sunscreen on that one area the day before and wanted to show her what the bad result was of that forgetfulness. “Aha, a teachable moment!” I had thought, and showed Chelsea the burn.  “This is why we have to put on sunscreen,” I cautioned, calling myself a silly Mommy for forgetting something so important.

The next day as we were driving together in the car, we somehow turned back to talking about sunscreen.  The main crux of the conversation was that we were going to have to keep each other safe and make sure we both put sunscreen on.  In my own mind, “safe” meant “safe from the sun.”  But in Chelsea’s mind “safe” apparently meant something else entirely – maybe because we were driving – because all of a sudden she ends our conversation from the back seat with “Yes, because I don’t want you to get hit by a truck!”

One thought on “Out of the blue

Leave a Reply

