This old thing?

One of the most joyous things about being a parent is having my little girl express her love and affection to my husband and I and our extended families.  The spontaneous hugs, kisses, snuggles, and “I love you”s are just priceless.

Sometimes Chelsea also surprises me now by making comments about how I look. She’s always interested in my necklaces, make up, and sometimes in what I’m wearing.  Occasionally she’ll come out with a nice compliment about my outfit for the day, which is sweet.

A comment from her the other day, though, had me laughing.  I came home from work, tossed off my “good” clothes and got immediately into my black Lululemon yoga pants, an orange tshirt, and an old red fleece sweater that I hardly ever wear and makes me look like a linebacker.  (What can I say, I knew it wasn’t going to be pretty, but it was just time to feel comfy and warm what with all this cold weather we’ve been having.)  But when I came downstairs Chelsea took one look at me and said, “Wow, Mom, you look pretty in that!”

Of course I laughed, in the vein of “What, this old thing?”  But I’ll take a compliment anywhere I can get it so, hey, I was still flattered!

2 thoughts on “This old thing?

  1. The honesty of children is so lovely isn’t it. You always know when they compliment you, it’s because that’s what they really feel at that moment. Lovely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

