Slowing down A Year of New

So I have this blog* and it’s supposed to be something I do for fun, and I thought it would be fun to do something new each week for a year and write about it on my blog.

Trouble is, it’s kind of stressing me out.

It’s been 13 weeks now since I started “A Year of New” and it’s been great, but since September hit I’m busier than ever at work and I’m trying to have home and social lives too. I’ve been feeling pressured by this thing that I’m supposed to be doing for fun, which makes it not fun anymore. So I’m changing gears.

I’m still going to do lots of fun things, I’ll make myself that promise. But I can’t do something new every week. I’ll do them when I can and chip away at the things on my list (which is still quite long) and I’ll tell you about them when I do. When I first thought about slowing down the project the perfectionist in me said, “No, you can’t do that because you said you’d do one new thing for a year. You can’t go back on what you promised.” But the realist in me countered, “Who cares? Does anyone pay you to write this blog? I’m pretty sure your readers are real people too and will understand.”

The realist won out. 🙂

So this week there will not be a ‘new thing’ because I just didn’t have the time, but there will be next week! Stay tuned…

*Yes, for those of you now reading this through ‘Notes’ on my Facebook profile, you’re actually reading my blog posts, which are accessible also at: http://www.shadesofbliss.blogspot.com/.

2 thoughts on “Slowing down A Year of New

Leave a Reply

