Now published AND paid

I mentioned a couple of weeks ago that I had written an article for August’s issue of Island Parent magazine. What I didn’t mention at the time that this happening marked a big event for me, it was the first time someone ever paid me to write.

That’s a big WOW in my world!

I’ve always liked to write, ever since I was a kid, and I have done it a lot for free for people over the last several years in particular. Now don’t get me wrong, I totally believe in volunteering, but I was getting to the point where I just wanted someone to call up and say, “Hey, how about I pay you to write something for me?”, instead of “Hey, would you like to write something for me for free?”

I must clarify that Island Parent didn’t call me, I called them, but they did a) think I had a good idea for an article, b) accept the article and publish it, and c) pay for me it. They’re very supportive of local writers which I really appreciate. Getting paid to write that article is a momentous occasion and I will always remember Island Parent Magazine for giving me this “first” in writing.

The cheque arrived yesterday and I paused a bit inwardly to celebrate because only Chelsea was home with me and, at almost 18 months old, she doesn’t “get” how exciting this piece of mail was for me. (She did play with the envelope a bit though.) I think I should spend the money on something great, but I’m not sure what yet. Any ideas? If I come up with something interesting to mark the occasion, I’ll let you know.

Thanks for reading my musings here. I hope you continue to visit as I practice this craft and celebrate life’s little wonders like this. Whoo hoo!

4 thoughts on “Now published AND paid

  1. Congratulations, Beth. a great day. I remember the first money I received for giving breath sessions earlier this year. It felt amazing after 18 years of not being able to work.

    Here's to many more cheques 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

