Island Parent article

I took a short walk at lunch today and happened upon the August issue of Island Parent magazine displayed in a newstand near my office. I had to pick a copy up immediately because I’ve been waiting for them to publish an article I wrote for them – and there it was, mentioned on the cover! If you live on Vancouver Island, check out “If You Build It” – my tale about organizing my Victoria Baby Area Attractions Group (a meetup group for moms and babies to visit attractions around this city) this past year.

Although I’ve now shut down the group (the article will explain why), one of my assistant organizers – Anne – has started up her own group to carry on the torch of going sightseeing in Victoria with babies. She and her assistants have some great meetups planned in the near future at the Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre, Commonwealth Pool, Beckwith Park, Craigdarroch Castle and Fort Rodd Hill. She’s even planned a “Mom’s Dinner Out” night which will be a great excuse to get out of the house without our babies for a change!

Island Parent is very proactive about encouraging local parents to write for them, and for that I am appreciative. If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time at all, you know that writing is a passion of mine. Writing for Island Parent was a great experience and one I hope to repeat. Pick up Island Parent this month if you can … I’m about to go and read the other articles now!

2 thoughts on “Island Parent article

Leave a Reply

