Fisherman’s Wharf

One of the things you must do if you visit Victoria is head on over to Fisherman’s Wharf. It’s one of the places where float homes reside in our city, and also just happens to be a pretty yummy locale for good fish and chips. Although I don’t make a point of going to Fisherman’s Wharf often enough, when I do go I just love strolling amongst the float homes and seeing the weird, wild and wonderful ways in which people have decorated them. Some homes are ultra modern, but more fall in the range of a little to a lot kitchy. Somehow, though, the kitch just seems to fit in this floating village. I can imagine it’s a very different life living on top of the water than on the land.

There are so many picturesque spots on Fisherman’s Wharf, but these pots of flowers stood out to me on the day I visited.

And more flowers hung by artistic iron hangers made an interesting focal point on the side of one float home.

The best part for me was showing Chelsea the harbour seals which usually hang about the fresh fish shop, waiting for treats to be delivered to them by the shopkeepers. Chelsea and I watched these majestic creatures dive and frolic and come pointing out of the water with noses leading the way. Sadly, one of the seals had a milky white eye, which the shopkeepers confirmed for me was blind. But that didn’t stop the seal from finding his afternoon snack in the hands of a young girl that stepped in to help the feeding frenzy. I held on to Chelsea tight since I’m sure she would have just stepped into the water to be with the seals, and she watched the seals swim and snack with fascination.

Fisherman’s Wharf is just a nice place to go to relax, unwind, have some ice cream or fish and chips and drink in the ‘vibe’ that is Victoria in the summer. If you visit, tell the seals that Chelsea says hi!

Related posts:
Fisherman’s Wharf Walk
Words of Wisdom

2 thoughts on “Fisherman’s Wharf

  1. Fishermen's Wharf is a must stop when we go to Victoria. We must have fish and chips there!!! Aren't the seals fun!! I think you can even buy some fish scraps and have a hand at feeding them yourself.

    Like

  2. Yes that's what the little girl was doing, it looked like so much fun! I needed two hands for holding Chelsea, but will take here there again when she's older I'm sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

