Bye bye Christmas sweets, hello healthy cooking

I’ve been focusing on eating better these days and perhaps shedding a few pounds. Oh, I don’t usually eat all that bad and I don’t have a lot of pounds to lose, but it’s a good time to do a reset on being healthy. There’s never any better time than the present.

I’m starting to do more meal planning, and tonight’s plan called for one of my most favourite recipes, the Italian Meatloaf with Fresh Basil and Provolone (from Cooking Light Magazine). I know, you’re probably thinking, “Ugh, meatloaf?” and normally I couldn’t agree more. But this is a special meatloaf, one that actually tastes good and makes you want to eat more.

I paired the meatloaf with leftover Carrot Cumin Salad from last night’s dinner, along with some freshly-steamed aspiration. Have you ever heard of this before? I hadn’t. I saw it in the grocery store today and thought I’d try it out. It’s baby broccoli and was supposed to be sweeter than broccoli or asparagus. I would definitely have it again! (Though we’ll see if I can get Husband to try it…)


In my eyes, the whole meal was a hit on taste and looked good too. Yay to healthy eating! It can be delicious.

Leave a Reply

