Getting out, making gingerbread and a singing baby

It’s been so long since I did a 3BT post I’d have to look up when I last took the time to stop and be thankful for the little things. Here are a few things that made my day.

1. I met up with two other new moms tonight for a dinner out without our husbands or babies. We laughed and laughed. It was so rejuvenating.

2. Every year it is my Christmas baking ‘thing’ – passed on down from my mother – to make gingerbread. Our kind of gingerbread is the good kind, not like the gingerbread that some people try to pass off as tasting good and all you want to do is spit it out. I made the dough for mine tonight, and it is currently sitting in the fridge in all its molasses-y goodness, waiting for me to roll it out and cut it into house walls and a roof tomorrow. (I just hope all the Smarties, Reese’s Pieces and Rosebuds etc that I bought to decorate it last until then!)

3. I was playing the piano for Chelsea today – Christmas carols, the first time of the season – and I looked at her and sang, “Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!” She looked at me and smiled and sang “Hiiiiiiiiiiiii!” right back to me on the same note. I think we have a little singer in our midst!

Leave a Reply

