Our day

Some people, if they think about it at all, think of today as being All Saints’ Day. But for me it has always been simply my birthday. But today is the first birthday I’ve ever had where I’ve thought not about it being the day I was born, but about it being the day that my mother birthed me. (I suppose becoming a mother myself this year has given me a change of perspective.)

Years and years ago today, my mother went through the amazing feat of bringing me into the world. She did this in spite of having such a terrible doctor that she eventually instructed my father to bar the man from her hospital room! I was big and red-faced and had dark hair, my mother was small and her figure bounced back so quickly that she wore her regular clothes home from the hospital. This was her second time around the baby birthing block; it was also her last.

My mother is strong yet vulnerable, loud yet soft, short in stature yet long in accomplishments. She is witty, sarcastic, emotional, brave, intelligent, fun, a bargain-hunter and a prolific reader. She is creative, calm, ready for a challenge, interesting and kind. She is wonderful. She is the woman who gave birth to me on this day, and for the rest of my life has been most definitely, fantastically, my Mom.

3 thoughts on “Our day

  1. And for just this small blink in time, she is speechless! OK, now I can talk again. So, so wonderful to read your blog this morning. Thank you, my daughter.The best part of being a mom for me now is watching you experience it all with Chelsea. And the world keeps turning.

    Like

  2. Wow, Beth! Your mother was speechless! All kidding aside, that was a very touching blog. The interesting thing is – if Chelsea could talk she would more than likely describe many of the same characteristics of her own mother(except the short stature). Aunt Joyce

    Like

  3. My pleasure, my mama. It’s nice to surprise you once in a while with a blog post.And to Joyce, happy to see you here! Thank you for the touching compliment. It warmed my heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

