What you might not know about me … #2

2. I’ve seen several of Canada’s ‘big’ things. Namely, the Big Nickel in Sudbury, Ontario, the Canada Goose in Wawa, Ontario, the World’s Largest Hockey Stick in Duncan, BC, the Big Apple near Colborne, Ontario, and I’m sure several more large things that I can’t think of at the moment. (There are many more large roadside attractions in Canada … who knew?)

Also, while driving across the United States a few years ago, my husband and I stumbled across a surprising ‘big thing’ in Minnesota. The sky was threatening thunderstorms (it actually reminded me of Ontario pre-tornado weather – very scary) so we stopped and got a hotel room for the night in Blue Earth. It turned out to be the home of the Jolly Green Giant! When we stopped for gas before checking in at the hotel, I noticed a Jolly Green Giant postcard near the till as I was paying. Wondering what the heck that was about, I asked the clerk about it. He proudly informed me of the town’s claim to fame. How funny! Those two things are what I remember of the beautifully-named town of Blue Earth: my hubby running out for a pizza that night in the pouring rain and getting absolutely drenched, and visiting the Jolly Green Giant in the morning before we left town!

Is the fascination with big tourist attractions like this just a North American thing? What have you seen?

(See also What you might not know about me … #1.)

Leave a Reply

