That wacky Warhol

The other day two friends and their babies, Chelsea and I went to the Andy Warhol exhibit currently showing at the Art Gallery of Greater Victoria. Although all three of the little ones slept through a portion of the visit, they seemed to enjoy it when they were awake. I also thought the exhibit was pretty interesting, but probably for the wrong reasons. I’m not sure I “get” what Warhol was doing with his pop art, but I think that as a person in general he was a pretty quirky, interesting character. Apparently he was always saying contradictory things about himself, so he remains a bit of an enigmatic figure.

Here are some Warhol quotes that I find interesting (the first) and strange (the second):

“An artist is someone who produces things that people don’t need to have but that he – for some reason – thinks it would be a good idea to give them.”

“I always thought I’d like my own tombstone to be blank. No epitaph, and no name. Well, actually, I’d like it to say ‘figment’.”

And, my favourite:

“I think having land and not ruining it is the most beautiful art that anybody could ever want to own.”

Isn’t that a wonderful sentiment? For a guy that comes across as a full-on eccentric I wonder if this might have been the most normal and perceptive thing Warhol ever said!

Leave a Reply

