A good poke

In my view, there’s nothing like a good poke. No, I’m not talking about sex, I’m talking about acupuncture!

I discovered this ancient healing art a couple of months ago when I was dealing with some uncomfortable pregnancy issues, and I’ve never looked back since. I had always been intrigued by the idea of the hair-thin needles that apparently stimulate the qi (energy) in our body, and I finally got the chance to try it. Now, I’m a complete convert.

In my experience acupuncture really works, and I’ve had friends and acquaintances tell me the same. Regardless, I find the whole procedure extremely relaxing and wonderful. After the needles (usually about 12 or so, but I suppose it depends on the number of conditions you’re being treated for) are inserted, my practitioner also performs some acupressure on my neck, back and/or feet, which is wonderful. I’ve never been the type to fall asleep during massage, but I have fallen asleep with acupuncture needles in and after a soothing bout of acupressure. It’s sheer heaven.

For those of you that have never tried acupuncture before, you may be wondering if those little needles hurt. In my experience, the answer is generally no. A couple of times I’ve had a sharp, momentary pain as a needle is inserted, but then it usually goes away right away. Most of the time there is no pain associated with the insertion of the needles at all. If there is, I would liken the sensation to slightly more painful than pulling out an eyebrow hair, which is very bearable. The needles don’t go more than a millimetre or two into your skin and no marks are left on your body after their removal.

Acupuncture has been a lovely addition to the annoying number of health-related appointments I’ve had during pregnancy. During those others I’ve been swabbed, prodded and handled; I’ve had my glucose levels, urine, blood and blood pressure tested (some, numerous times); I’ve been measured and weighed and had my eating habits assessed. (I’m sure I’m forgetting what else I’ve gone through – but truthfully I’m not sure if I want to remember.) Going for acupuncture, though, feels more like going for some me time, it’s a time to just lie down and let it all happen.

Have you been poked lately?

3 thoughts on “A good poke

  1. I love acupuncture! It really works very well for me too.A few years ago I had pneumonia very badly (is there a good way to have pneumonia?) and had been sick for over 2 months. Nothing seemed to be working – rest, antibiotics etc.Finally I remembered a previous experience at acupuncture and made an appointment. After 1 treatment I felt worlds better – my family was astounded. After the 2nd treatment I remember I could finally sleep — and be rested! Within 2 weeks I was back to my old self. 2 weeks – as opposed to the 2 months I had been on antibiotics with no reprieve.I used to see an acupuncturist regularly and I too have fallen asleep on the table!Your post just might be motivating me to go back…I’ve never experienced pain either – I’ve had sensations I can only describe as a twang, but never pain.

    Like

  2. Oops – I meant to say what a nice thing this has been for you to do for yourself (and your baby!) during your pregnancy.I’m glad you’ve experienced it as an oasis in the medical side of pregnancy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

