March of the Penguins


I’m probably the last person in the world to see March of the Penguins, the National Geographic documentary narrated by Morgan Freeman. I finally decided to get it at the library and tonight had some free time to sit down and watch it.

It was so good! What a struggle for procreation and survival these male and female penguins undergo, walking over 70 miles from the sea to their breeding grounds several times a year in order to have chicks and raise them in a safe place. It was amazing.

And who can resist footage of fluffy baby penguins hiding underneath their mother’s bodies? If you haven’t yet had time to check out this natural family movie, I recommend it.

6 thoughts on “March of the Penguins

  1. Sorry about the double comment. I just remembered a penguin scene from the latest BBC Planet Earth series. At the end of each programme there was a 10 minute slot giving an insight into how the programme was made. One focused on how they filmed penguins and they showed scenes of a little baby penguin trapped in an ice hole – it had fallen in. One of the film-makers cut it free and lifted it out of the ice. Off it skuttled to its parent. It was so touching.

    Like

  2. That’s so touching Mo, that would have been a nice shot in the movie. Thanks for the tip on Winged Migration – I just put it on hold at the library!

    Like

  3. Me again! Just noticed you’re reading the Forest House. Have you read her others? I loved The Mists of Avalon. I quite enjoyed the Forest House but not as much as the Mists. The last one I read was the Lady of Avalon and I couldn’t get into it at all.

    Like

  4. I’m sure I’ve read the other books, Mo, but it’s been years. I can’t remember the stories! Maybe I should read them again. What are you reading these days?

    Like

  5. I’m on historical fiction – Philippa Gregory’s series about Henry VIII and Elizabeth I. This is the fourth I’ve read but she wrote them out of sequence which is a bit confusing! I’ve already read about Elizabeth I. Now it’s back to Anne of Cleves and Katherine Howard (Henry’s 4th and 5th wives)- “The Boleyn Inheritance”. The Mists of Avalon was the Arthurian Legend told from the point of view of all the female characters. I couldn’t put it down when I read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

