Timid of trying

I had been dreaming of buying a house with a garden so I could fulfill my romantic notion of growing my own vegetables. Lucky for me, last fall we bought a nice place with a large yard and, yes, lots of flowerbeds and a garden. Now I don’t know what to do with it!

After learning how to compost a few weeks ago (one small step for this household) I figured I had better get moving on figuring out how to grow things to eat. So I took a course at a local demonstration garden on Monday night.

The lecturer – and yes, it was a lecture – was quite knowledgeable and, amazingly, I scribbled down 9 pages of notes. (It was almost like being back in university again!) I learned about garden location, fertilizing, soil, irrigation, and more … and then about the vegetables themselves. It was exhausting! And I know you’re dying to ask me: now that I am fresh out of garden “school” and have all this new-found knowledge, what do I think about gardening?

It sounds hard!

I’m actually scared to death to move forward. Not only does it sound like a lot of work, it feels like I still really don’t know much at all about gardening! I’m sure this wasn’t the intended effect of the demonstration garden – to scare people away from gardening with this “introductory” class – but this is what I seem to have come away with … a clear case of garden fright.

The class isn’t done yet, so this could be my saving grace. Tomorrow morning is part 2 of 2 – and it’s the ‘field’ work to back up the hours of lecture we had on Monday night. I’ll be pricking and planting, and goodness knows what else. I’ll even come away with some seeds and “starts” of my own. (Hmmm, I didn’t even know what “starts” were a few weeks ago; I guess I must be learning something.)

Wish me luck all you people out there who probably think gardening is easy. I know, I know … it probably IS easy. But at this point, I haven’t bought into that concept yet!

5 thoughts on “Timid of trying

  1. I am sure you’ll have no problems. My advice: start simple with just a few things. Bottom line? Enjoy yourself. Your failures will make great photo essays!

    Like

  2. Go for it, girl. You learn by your mistakes. Alan’s father had a nursery when Alan was young and Alan still had lots of things die on him when he started gardening. The big thing is the kind of soil you have. If you’ve got great soil, it’s a dawdle. We’ve got wet, clay soil which is a nightmare.

    Like

  3. Hi Beth, I feel the same. We moved into our house 5 years ago, one of the big things for us was to have a nice garden. The people who lived here before were keen gardeners and I’ve been scared to touch anything. This year though I’ve decided to start doing a few things. I think your mum is right, just do small things a little at a time. That way your confidence will grow. That’s what I’m hoping anyway. Good luck with it.

    Like

  4. Just don’t take it so seriously – some things die off and some things are successful in gardening – it always is a great adventure!! There are a few West Coast Gardening books that are helpful – the nurseries are a great help and then just start digging and planting and enjoying!!! Most areas around here have great soil too.

    Like

  5. Thanks for all your support everyone! I’m babying the broccoli starts that I brought home from the course. I’ll be able to put some in the ground after they’ve hardened off in two weeks. And to think that last week I didn’t even know the term, ‘hardened off’!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

