The Vagina Monologues

The other week I solved the mystery about the curious email that I received (or actually, didn’t receive!). Why had a friend written me about vaginas? Well, as my post title notes, a production of Eve Ensler’s The Vagina Monologues was being put on at the University of Victoria in honour of VDay (a global movement to stop violence against women and girls). She was asking me to go.

We went to see the production, of course. I had taken out the CD several years ago from the library and thought it was quite good. My friend had read the book so she also knew a little bit about what was going to happen. This was a student production so I have to admit that my hopes were not high. And it was lucky that we got there when we did; I got the last ticket and we had to wait until start time to find out if my friend could get a rush seat! Luckily she did and we slipped instead (and then waited another 25 minutes until they could figure out how to fill the few other empty seats)! Ah, student productions, I thought. You wouldn’t get this at the Royal or McPherson Theatres here in town.

But when the show started my thoughts of it being a student production went by the wayside. They were good. I mean really good. I forgot to save my program so I can’t tell you who I liked best, but it was the woman that did the, “My vagina’s angry!” skit. She was hilarious. Of course, they were all good. I thoroughly enjoyed the show.

Don’t be afraid of the title, when you’re thinking of seeing this show – and this goes for you men out there as well. Girls, want to learn more about yourself or just have a good laugh (and a bit of serious thought as well)? Guys, want to learn more about women? See this show!

Leave a Reply

