In search of the high

Tonight I dragged out my Lifetime Goals List that I’ve spoken of before to remind myself of something I had put on there … goodness knows when. At some point in the past I thought it would be neat to accomplish running a 5K.

Now let me say that I don’t run. I’ve always thought that running was hard, running was boring, running was something that was going to make your legs snap and break and never be the same again. But, funnily enough, I still had a sniggly little desire to run. My friends that have become runners swear by it, and they even seem to know of this thing called the ‘runner’s high’ that I, as a non-runner, think sounds quite crazy indeed.

But, crazy is as crazy does. Today I signed up for a running clinic that not only trains for a 5K, it trains for a 10K!! Lordy, lordy – guess who is going to be running down a Victoria street near you? This non-runner, hopefully soon to be a pitiful runner, and then maybe someday a fairly average or even adequate runner. Hee hee.

The clinic starts SUNDAY! I’m a morning person, so I chose the 9am training clinic. Get up, get running, get it over with. Get in shape? I’ll let you know how it goes.

If you’re a runner (and I know some of you are), send me some tips! I might need them…

5 thoughts on “In search of the high

  1. Hey, Go Beth go! I am a complete running convert. I started running for the first time about 4 or 5 years ago. At first I could hardly go around the block (1/3rd mile), I used to challenge myself, go to the next lamppost, the next day I would try a bit further. My first race was a 5K. It was the best feeling ever knowing that I had run 3 miles. Oh dear I’ll have to stop myself, I can be a bit evangelical about it! Suffice to say running has been great for me, it has given me confidence that I can do whatever I set my mind to!

    Like

Leave a Reply

