Amazed with Amazon

If you’re wondering what happened to my adventure with Amazon.com, here’s the rest of the story.

I emailed Amazon to tell them that the book I ordered for my friend seemed to have been sent to Toronto, when really it was supposed to go to Seattle. They wrote back and said (and I’m paraphrasing here), “Sorry, dear, to have caused you so much trouble. We’ve refunded you the money because that book has been lost.”

I shook my head and wrote back. (Again, paraphrasing…) “Amazon, you kooky nut, I think you could just redirect the book that went to Toronto back to Seattle and all would be well. I don’t actually need a refund…”

And they replied. “Sorry but that book’s dead to us. We’ve ordered a new book to go to Seattle and reversed the refund on your card. This is what we do. Oh, if you should happen to get two copies of the book, please let us know.”

You don’t need a Ph.D. to figure out what happened …

I got an email from my friend. She got the book! She loves the book! She can’t wait to cook from the book!

And I wrote her back. Yay! Yay! Yay! PS If you get two books, let me know.

And the next day the second book arrived to her house.

Oh Amazon, it’s close to Christmas and I can see you’re very stressed. There have been orders and emails and second books and refunds and all I wanted for Christmas was to send my friend a surprise present out of the blue. Now I think I’m getting a second Vij’s cookbook – but I saw a pakora recipe in there that looks to die for!

2 thoughts on “Amazed with Amazon

  1. Hi Beth – I had a similar thing happen with National Geographic books – they sent two the same and billed for two also!! Hope the recipies are good!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

