This one’s for Chrissy

Melanie challenged her blog readers to come up with 5-10 things we appreciate about an important person in our lives and to share the items on our list with that person. She had some wonderful things to say about her husband. Today I would like to talk about my friend Christa.

I know Christa reads my blog…but she lurks out there, never commenting! πŸ™‚ (Well, never commenting on the actual blog – she gives me great feedback over email.) I’m sure she’ll notice this post very soon.

Here are some things I appreciate about Christa:

1. Christa’s the kind of person you just want to be around, because she’s so vibrant and full of life. When we’re together we laugh, laugh, laugh. My gut hurts from laughing.

2. Even though we don’t live in the same city or even the same province, when we see each other we just pick right back up where we left off, like it was just last week that we had a walk around the trail at RIM Park in Waterloo together and chatted the whole way ’round.

3. She likes what she likes and she’s not afraid to say it. Christa and her husband have been to Walt Disney World probably more than 30 times. They do not have kids – they’re just kids at heart themselves. I love Christa for being who she is and not caring that Disney is her passion. (PS She’s also a great writer. Check out her Disney trip report.)

4. Christa is one of kindest people I know, and hates to hurt other people’s feelings. She’s very conscientious and honest and giving and – well, down right pretty great in terms of being a person and a friend!

5. When all the other people in the world are wondering about us (either secretly or not), “Why don’t you have kids yet?”, Christa understands. She understands that it’s a hard decision to make and it’s not one to be taken lightly. And she tells me that she’ll be happy for me whatever we decide. Unconditional friendship, that is! I love her for it.

This is a woman that you’d want as your friend because she’s just that great. Cheers to you today Chrissy!

(PS I keep telling her to start a blog but she’s not there yet. If you read her trip report and like it, post here with your comments! Maybe we’ll convince her. :-))

6 thoughts on “This one’s for Chrissy

  1. Hey, Beth!
    I checked out Christa’s Disney trip and it’s great. She is just so enthusiastic, I keep wondering if she visited a different Disney World than we did!

    Like

  2. Hi Beth, Christa sounds like such a fun friend. I loved her disney report! A definite blogger in waiting. Or maybe she should be a disney salesperson, she’s convinced me that it would be worth a trip :-))

    Like

  3. Wow!! How could I possibly NOT respond to a post like that! I read it just after I ran out of kleenex. Sheesh! Thanks Beth! I don’t think I deserve the praise, but I sure do appreciate it. The thing that really struck me while reading your blog, was that I could say all the same things back to you. Well, minus the obsession with Disney maybe. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for being an amazing friend. Now, if I could just figure out how to get this goofy grin off my face….;)

    Like

  4. Christa must start a blog. She is a wonderful writer. I must add the I love Disneyland. I first went around 1959 (guessing at the year) with my family. As a kid we went every 2-3 years. My husband and I went there on our honeymoon. We’ve going about every two years since we’ve been married. We also went on our 30th anniversary. My youngest son and his wife went there on their honeymoon also. And they are keeping up the tradition with their kids. In fact they went over Thanksgiving holiday, had Thanksgiving in the ballroom and breakfast with goofy. Nothing beats Disneyland.

    Like

  5. Thanks to everyone for posting! I knew I wouldn’t be the only one to love Christa’s writing. Melanie, it’s so wonderful that you and she have the same traditions! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

