My blog turns one

One year old already? Where does the time go? As I review the blogging year behind me I can’t help but think, “How did I manage to write about all that?” 121 posts (not including this one) make up the first year of Shades of Bliss and I could not have had more fun.

Things really have come full circle. On Saturday when I was driving home from Campbell River, I passed by Goldstream Provincial Park just north of Victoria and wondered why in the world the parking area was so jammed full of cars. As I passed by the entrance to the park I saw the reason emblazoned on a small sign: Salmon Run.

Oh my goodness! Has it really been a year since we visited the salmon run at Goldstream? I was so filled with wonder, then, at the amount of fish pushing against the current so they could get upstream to spawn that I wrote my first blog about the visit. It’s not often that you get to see nature working so intently to perpetuate itself. The sight of the salmon swimming intently alongside their brethren – dead or dying on the shores – was fascinating.

Like the salmon, I will press on with a hopeful vigour. I will keep practicing my writing craft, creating work that I love, enjoying life and searching out new and interesting things to see and do. I will have fun!

I hope you’ll continue on with me for the ride.

5 thoughts on “My blog turns one

  1. Hi Beth, Happy blogging anniversary! I really enjoy reading your blog and enjoy the beautiful photos, although they make me feel very nostalgic for our time in BC.

    Like

  2. Hello my friends! I’m so glad you stopped by. I’ll try to get out to take some more pictures this weekend…the rain has been interminable here so I’ve been chicken to leave the house!

    Like

  3. Thanks Beth, for writing such a great blog for 1 YEAR!! Happy Anniversary! I’ve enjoyed getting to know you better since our high school days. Keep up the great work and pictures!

    T

    Like

Leave a Reply

