Island driving

I was in Campbell River for a few days for work, so it feels like forever since I’ve last posted! If you’re not familiar with Vancouver Island, Campbell River is about a three-hour drive north of Victoria on the west coastline of the island. I didn’t have any time to snap pics in Campbell River but today on my leisurely drive home I managed to snag a few of the beautiful 19A highway drive between Campbell River and Courtenay.

This was my first glimpse of the mountains around Courtenay from the roadside: The morning was quite foggy and I thought the barn in the distance shrouded in fog was quite a sight:
I had to turn around and drive back for this one, which featured the fog hanging in a layer before the trees:
And when I got to Courtenay I spied hundreds of geese grazing in the fields:I continued to hug the oceanside drive through Qualicum Beach and Parksville, and then hit the main highway to make up some lost time. A short stop in Chemainus for some Christmas-tree garland that I had ordered at a gallery there a while back, and then I was on the road again to Victoria. It was only two nights away, but it’s still good to be home.

3 thoughts on “Island driving

  1. More stunning pictures. The west coast of Canada is definitely on my list of places to visit when I get better. I’d love to see the Rockies too.

    Like

  2. Isn’t it beautiful? I highly recommend a visit…and someday I’d like to get to the north island which apparently is quite beautiful as well. Thanks for posting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

