Who sees you?

Everyone loves to people-watch, don’t they? I know I do. There’s a whole big world out there of people – funny-looking or good-looking, strange or interesting – to take notice of, and they come in all shapes and sizes. They each have their own story.

I watch others all the time, but it was only the other day that I realized a startling fact. While I’m watching other people, they’re probably watching me. People probably take notice of me all the time, and think something. What do they see? What do they think?

Tonight on the bus I overhead a conversation between two women. The first was an older lady who was sitting directly in front of me. The second was a younger woman who got on the bus and sat kitty-corner to the older lady. The younger woman had very long, dark, straight hair.

“You’ve got such nice hair!” the older lady noted, in a very loud voice.

“Thank you,” said the younger lady, smiling as she arranged herself in the seat.

The older lady continued the conversation. “I’ve seen you around. You have a dog that you walk.”

“Yes, I do have a dog. Where have you seen me walking my dog?” said the younger lady.

The older lady waved her arms around in the air. “Oh, around here.”

These were two strangers, who presumably met on a bus for the first time. They introduced themselves to each other by first name right in front of me, and shook hands. But it wasn’t the first time that they had seen each other. The older lady already knew, in a sense, who the younger lady was.

Who do you “know”, just from seeing them “around”?

Who do you think sees you?

Leave a Reply

